Deactiviting Your Facebook Account

16 Jan

I’ve been asked to do a follow up on my “Deactivating Your Pinterest Account” post with a How-to Shut Down your Facebook Account Post. Shutting down your account completely is impossible; if you’ve opened an account it’s there to stay. Facebook itself warns that after shutting down your account, “your friends can still invite you to events, tag you in photos, or ask you to join groups”

You can still”De-activate” your account if you want. This means that while your account name is still out there, your account no longer shows up.  It won’t show up in search engines, and no one can access your profile anymore–it’s like you were never there.  Of course the files are still on Facebook’s mainframe, but at least usually no one you know can get ahold of it (unless you know a hacker or the government, then it’s all up to a miracle).  

Voila!: How to Deactivate Facebook

(With Helpful Pics)-Click images for enlargement

This may work for you and take you to the “Account Settings” page automatically: Account Settings. If so, skip steps 1-3.

1. Sign in to Facebook.

2. Look in the Top Right Corner of your screen to the blue bar at the top. Do you see the gear symbol? Click It.

Facebook 1

 

3. Now You’ll have a list of options; click “Account Settings.” 

Facebook

 

4. Look at the top of the menu on your Left-hand. You are currently on General, but you need to choose “Security.”

facebook

 

 

5. At the very bottom of the list of Security Settings is a new link “Deactivate Your Account.” Click It.

Facebook

 

 

It’s going to ask you for your reasons for leaving, and it will offer a few warnings. The most significant of which being that if you de-activate your account, you will not automatically be re-added as an admin to groups or pages if you re-join later. If you accept all the risks, just hit “Confirm.”  You are officially no longer on Facebook!

 

Please note that if you de-activate your account but want to re-join later, all you have to do is re-sign in with your old username and password.  It’ll ask you a few questions, but your account will come back. This is why a lot of people disappear around finals-time but show up again later. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: